An Afternoon with Rich Walker

Rich Walker is a well-known landscape and long-exposure photographer based in the South West of England. Rich was the winner of the BBC Radio Devon’s photographic competition, and has had his work featured in various publications, including Digital SLR Magazine and Practical Photography Magazine. I recently spoke to Rich whilst photographing the Cornish coastline, and asked him a few questions about his passion for photography.

49810397_1974601112655273_6541675498970284032_n
Rich Walker photographing the Cornish coastline.

What inspired you to take-up photography?

“I took up photography as I’d always been interested in the subject and because I wanted to explore more. I’ve always had a love of travelling and after serving 11 years in the Royal Navy I missed that sense of adventure in my normal day job. So, photography gets me out and about exploring new places.”

Whose work influenced you when first began photography, and why?

“When I first started, I didn’t really know any big photographers, but as the last few years have gone on, I’ve discovered people such as Thomas Heaton, Simon Baxter, Otto Berkeley to name a few. These guys are at the top of their game and constantly produce stunning images.”

What equipment do you carry with you in your camera bag?

“In my camera bag I have my Canon 80D, a Canon 15-85mm lens, and a Canon 70-200mm lens. I also have various filters for balancing exposures and Neutral Density filters to slow down my exposures. I also carry spare clothes, especially socks. I shoot at the beach and coast quite a bit and there’s always a risk of wet feet. I also carry a small umbrella, waterproofs, and food when I’m out.”

Where’s your favourite location for photography, and why?

“My favourite locations are Cornwall, Dartmoor, Dorset and London, but I’ve been to Snowdonia and the Lake District which are absolutely stunning areas to explore. I love the coast and the moors, but I’m also into architecture photography, so London is a great place to visit for that.”

39742745_1779310675517652_6319637573941592064_n
Land’s End at sunset. Credit: Rich Walker.

What’s your favourite photograph that you’ve taken, and why?

“One of my favourite photographs is a shot from Land’s End that I took last year. I went down for sunset and managed to catch an incoming rainstorm as the sun was setting. The heather was still out and it looked gorgeous, the colours in the shot look amazing.”

What advice would you share to aspiring photographers?

“If you’re just starting out just get out and practice, the more you do the more you’ll improve. For editing, there are hundreds of tutorials on YouTube and the internet, you don’t really need to pay for expensive courses, everything is there online for free.

36884086_1710832695698784_6281609469646340096_n.jpg
Pulpit Rock, Dorset. Credit: Rich Walker.

Do you have any questions for Rich Walker? What’s your favourite photo from his portfolio, and why? Comment below or get in touch.

 

 

Leave a comment